First team


Andrew DiFrancesco, jr., Minnetonka: Smart, opportunistic player led Skippers to the state tournament.

Cole Grindberg, sr., Chanhassen: Size, smarts and finishing ability made him the Star Tribune Metro Player of the Year.

Isaac Peifer, sr., Eagan: Dynamic in transition for the defending state champion Wildcats.


David Beacom, sr., Bloomington Kennedy: Instant threat to score, clear or create opportunities for teammates.

Parker Freiberg, jr., Irondale: Strong defensive midfielder played key role in the Knights' undefeated regular season.

Joey Stillings, sr., Eastview: Scored multiple points in every game despite constant double- and triple-teams.


Brent Hauck, sr., Lakeville North: Five-year starter helped Panthers to state tournament. Committed to Army.

Preston Jelen, sr., Prior Lake: Defensive anchor for the state-bound Lakers. Committed to the Gophers' football program.

Quentin Matsui, jr., Eden Prairie: On track to becoming the best defender Minnesota lacrosse has produced.

Faceoff specialist

Spencer Sande, sr., Holy Angels: Dominates the faceoff circle. Committed to Johns Hopkins University.

Long-stick midfielder

Kyle McNeill, sr., Eden Prairie: Fierce competitor stifled opponents' top midfielders. Committed to Marquette.


Buzz Williams, sr., Benilde-St. Margaret's: Backbone of the undefeated Red Knights (15-0), the state tournament's No. 1 seed.

David La Vaque