Plattsburgh (N.Y.) State won its seventh NCAA Division III title in women’s hockey, defeating Hamline 4-0 on Saturday night at St. Thomas’ arena in Mendota Heights.

The Pipers (23-4-3), who beat top-seeded St. Thomas 3-0 the night before, were making their first appearance in the championship game.

The Cardinals (29-2) scored one goal in the first, another in the second and two more in the third to gradually pull away. Courtney Moriaty and Abby Bush, the wings of Plattsburgh State’s top line, had two of the goals. Kaitlin Drew-Mead made it 1-0 just 4:27 into the game.

Kassi Abbott made 29 saves, 15 in the third period, for the shutout. Jaela O’Brien stopped 24 shots for Hamline.

The Pipers, coached by former Olympian and Gophers star Natalie Darwitz, met Plattsburgh State in third-place game last year, with the Pipers winning 5-4 in overtime.

In the third-place game, St. Thomas lost 1-0 to Adrian (Mich.). Maggie Mitter scored the only goal — her 13th of the season — at 3 minutes, 50 seconds of the third period. Jessica VonRuden had the lone assist. Denisa Jandova made 22 saves for the shutout. The Bulldogs finish 24-5-2.

Eryn Cooley stopped 23 of 24 shots for the Tommies (25-3-2). St. Thomas had won the MIAC regular-season and tournament titles, and the Tommies’ Tom Palkowski was named Division III Coach of the Year.