South-metro teachers among teacher-of-the-year candidates

A handful of south-metro teachers were among the 106 statewide chosen as candidates for 2010 Minnesota Teacher of the Year.

The statewide teachers' union, Education Minnesota, announced the list last week. South-metro teachers include: Sharron Stalock, Burnsville-Eagan-Savage; Randall Ferguson and Patty Nygren, Farmington; Julie Pyle, Prior Lake-Savage; and Linda Albertson, Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan.

One teacher will be chosen for the award on May 2.


Hockey coach resigns after suspension

The head coach of the Shakopee High School girls' hockey team has resigned.

Dereck Grosskurth's decision, announced last month, comes after he served a five-game coaching suspension for drinking during a team trip in November. The Shakopee school district handed down shorter suspensions to three assistant coaches.

"I am moving forward and supporting the team by being a fan and cheering them on," Grosskurth said in an e-mail to the Star Tribune on Monday.

He has also resigned as an assistant softball coach and junior high football coach, but retains his teaching position at Eagle Creek Elementary.

Last year, Grosskurth was suspended from his teaching job for five days for taking low-value gift cards from Shakopee Middle School, according to school district records.