It was a historic day for the state of South Dakota.

Both of its Division I women's basketball teams are headed to the NCAA tournament after South Dakota received an at-large bid on Monday.

South Dakota State (26-6), an automatic qualifier as the Summit League tournament champion, will be making its second straight NCAA appearance and its ninth in the past 11 seasons, the most in Summit League history.

The Jackrabbits' No. 6 seed is the highest in league history. They will open against No. 11 seed Quinnipiac on Saturday in Syracuse, N.Y.

South Dakota (28-5), which this season spent time in the Associated Press Top 25 for the first time in program history, is just the second school in league history to earn an at-large bid. The eighth-seeded Coyotes, playing in their second NCAA tournament, will face No. 9 Clemson on Friday in Starkville, Miss.

South Dakota State has four Minnesotans on its roster, and South Dakota has three.

UConn settles for No. 2 seed

UConn will be a No. 2 seed in the NCAA tournament, a surprising twist after the Huskies were ranked second in the Associated Press poll the final eight weeks of the season. It is the first time UConn has not been a No. 1 seed in the tournament since 2006.

"We felt that it came down strength of schedule, strength of conference, as well as how they were playing down the stretch," Ronda Lundin Bennett, chair of the NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Selection Committee said in an interview with ESPN.

Baylor is the top seed overall in the field and will be trying to reach the Final Four for the first time since 2012. The Lady Bears have won 23 consecutive games — the longest active streak in the nation. The other No. 1 seeds went to defending champion Notre Dame, Mississippi State and Louisville.

The seed doesn't mean much to coach Geno Auriemma.

"I don't think it matters one way or the other," he said. "We've lost the national championship being the No. 1 seed and we've won national championships being the 2 or 3 seed, if I'm not mistaken."

A major ESPN oops

An "unfortunate technical error" by ESPN resulted in the bracket being shown on air Monday afternoon hours before it was to have been revealed, scuttling watch parties and forcing the network to move up its selection show by two hours.

The show, originally scheduled for 6 p.m., instead began on ESPN2 at 4 p.m., at which point the leaked bracket had already been circulating online. ESPN confirmed that the bracket was accurate.

The technical glitch ruined watch parties across the country, as the brackets unceremoniously appeared online hours before they were expected.

"We regret the network's mistake and are working with our partners at ESPN to prevent similar errors in future years," the NCAA said in a statement.

While many college teams invited fans to join them for what would have been watch parties but became more general celebrations after the brackets were revealed, Oregon, Oregon State, Princeton, Radford and Rice were among the programs that canceled their events Monday.

Six teams for the Big Ten

The Big Ten has six teams in the tournament: Iowa (a No. 2 seed), Maryland (3), Indiana (7), Rutgers (7), Michigan (8) and Michigan State (9). Only the ACC (eight) and SEC (seven) have more.

Iowa has its highest seed since 1996, when it also was a No. 2. The Hawkeyes will play host to first- and second-round games in Iowa City.

The Hawkeyes and another Iowa school, Drake, would play in the second round if both win their openers.

Michigan State has a first-round matchup with Central Michigan.


• Tennessee (19-12) made the tournament for the 38th straight year, but only as a No. 11 seed. Tennessee is the only team that has appeared in every edition of the tournament.

• Conference USA champion Rice has the second-longest winning streak in the country at 21 consecutive games, but it only got the Owls a No. 12 seed. They will play Marquette in the first round.