By David La Vaque

OK, so this whole preseeded state football tournament format had its hiccups this season. The quarterfinals in Class 5A (Eden Prairie vs. Wayzata) and Class 3A (Glencoe-Silver Lake vs. DeLaSalle) come to mind. But hey, at least there is a playoff system, which was implemented in 1972. Before that, Minneapolis Tribune reporter Ted Peterson named a mythical state champion from 1947 to 1968. The paper picked three more mythical champs after Peterson's retirement. And here they are:

1947 Austin; 1948 Duluth Denfeld; 1949 South St. Paul; 1950 Austin; 1951 Austin; 1952 Bemidji; 1953 St. James; 1954 International Falls; 1955 Rochester; 1956 Minneapolis Roosevelt; 1957 Edina-Morningside; 1958 Robbinsdale; 1959 Minneapolis Washburn; 1960 Robbinsdale; 1961 Austin; 1962 Minneapolis Washburn; 1963 Richfield; 1964 Anoka; 1965 Edina-Morningside; 1966 Edina; 1967 Minneapolis Washburn; 1968 Albert Lea; 1969 Edina; 1970 Osseo; 1971 Moorhead.