– Green Bay Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers won his second MVP award Saturday night, taking the award in somewhat surprisingly easy fashion over J.J. Watt.

The Packers quarterback received 31 votes for the 2014 award from a nationwide panel of 50 media members who regularly cover the league. Houston's Watt, seeking to become the first defensive player to win MVP since 1986, got 13 votes. He was a unanimous pick as NFL Defensive Player of the Year.

Dallas running back DeMarco Murray, who was named Offensive Player of the Year, and Cowboys quarterback Tony Romo each got two votes.

Rodgers threw for 38 touchdowns and five interceptions, and he led the Packers to two victories at season's end despite playing with a severe calf injury. "I feel so fortunate to live out my dreams, year after year," he said Saturday night.

• Arizona veteran receiver Larry Fitzgerald Jr. won the inaugural Art Rooney Award for sportsmanship on the field, with the Holy Angels product beating out a group of finalists that included Vikings linebacker Chad Greenway.

• Chicago defensive end Jared Allen won the Salute to Service Award. USAA will contribute $25,000 in Allen's honor to the official aid societies representing all five military branches.

Other winners

Offensive Rookie of the Year: Odell Beckham Jr., N.Y. Giants

Defensive Rookie of the Year: Aaron Donald, St. Louis

Comeback Player of the Year: Rob Gronkowski, New England

Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year: Thomas Davis, Carolina

Coach of the Year: Bruce Arians, Arizona