The wait is almost over.

Wild players and coaches will finally get on the ice for the first practice of training camp on Monday at Tria Rink in St. Paul to prepare for a division-only, 56-game season that kicks off Jan. 14 in Los Angeles.

Aside from roster regulars and new arrivals like goalie Cam Talbot and forwards Kirill Kaprizov, Marcus Johansson, Nick Bonino and Nick Bjugstad, the Wild will also have plenty of call-up possibilities in camp to evaluate.

As part of the unique setup for the upcoming season, which features two-game series against each opponent including some on back-to-back days, teams will be allowed to carry a taxi squad of four to six players. On Wednesday, the American Hockey League Board of Governors approved the framework of a season that will begin on Feb. 5.

Invitees include Iowa Wild players Gerald Mayhew, Louie Belpedio and Kyle Rau. Defenseman Calen Addison, who was acquired in the Jason Zucker trade with Pittsburgh last season, will also be in camp. Same with this year's first-round draft pick Marco Rossi once he's done competing for Austria at the IIHF World Junior Championship.

Overall, the Wild has 41 players on its training camp roster. Two of those players, goalie Alex Stalock (upper body) and winger Mats Zuccarello (right arm surgery), are injured.

All practice sessions are closed to the public, but the team will stream scrimmages on Jan. 8 and 10 on its YouTube channel. KFAN 100.3 FM will also broadcast the scrimmage on Jan. 8. Puck drop is 7 p.m. from Xcel Energy Center.

Wild training camp roster

Forwards (22): Nick Bjugstad, Nick Bonino, Mitchell Chafee, Joseph Cramarossa, Connor Dewar, Brandon Duhaime, Gabriel Dumont, Joel Eriksson Ek, Kevin Fiala, Marcus Foligno, Jordan Greenway, Ryan Hartman, Marcus Johansson, Luke Johnson, Kirill Kaprizov, Gerald Mayhew, Zach Parise, Victor Rask, Marco Rossi, Kyle Rau, Mason Shaw, Nico Sturm.

Defensemen (12): Calen Addison, Matt Bartkowski, Louis Belpedio, Jonas Brodin, Matt Dumba, Brad Hunt, Ian McCoshen, Dakota Mermis, Greg Pateryn, Carson Soucy, Jared Spurgeon, Ryan Suter.

Goalies (5): Dereck Baribeau, Andrew Hammond, Hunter Jones, Kaapo Kahkonen, Cam Talbot.

Injured players (2): G Alex Stalock, F Mats Zuccarello.