The North Star College Cup will move to a Saturday-Sunday format for the third year of the annual in-state college hockey tournament at Xcel Energy Center in January.

Defending champion Bemidji State, last year's NCAA tournament No. 1 seed Minnesota State, St. Cloud State and the Gophers will compete for bragging rights in this season's four-team field. Minnesota Duluth rotates out after playing the first two years. 

The tournament kicks off on Saturday, Jan. 30, with St. Cloud State and Minnesota State at 1 p.m., and Bemidji State and the Gophers at 4 p.m.

Sunday, Jan. 31, will include a 1 p.m. consolation game and the 4 p.m. championship. 

The Gophers won the inaugural tournament in a shootout and Bemidji State upset two top 10 nationally ranked opponents to claim last season's title.