2015 nfl award winners

Carolina quarterback Cam Newton won the NFL MVP award in a landslide vote announced Saturday night in San Francisco. Newton received 48 votes from a nationwide panel of 50 sportswriters and broadcasters who regularly cover the league. Fellow QBs Tom Brady of New England and Carson Palmer of Arizona each got one vote. Other winners:

Award Winner Runner-up

Top offensive player Newton Antonio Brown, WR, Pittsburgh

Top defensive player J.J. Watt, DE, Houston Aaron Donald, DT, St. Louis

Top offensive rookie Todd Gurley, RB, St. Louis Jameis Winston, QB, Tampa Bay

Top defensive rookie Marcus Peters, CB, Kansas City Ronald Darby, CB, Buffalo

Comeback player Eric Berry, S, Kansas City Carson Palmer, QB, Arizona

Coach of the Year Ron Rivera, Carolina Andy Reid, Kansas City