The National Collegiate Hockey Conference and Target Center have waived the final year of their contract, and the NCHC Frozen Faceoff postseason tournament will move to Xcel Energy Center for the next five years.

The Xcel made the announcement Thursday.

The switch comes after the Big Ten and the Western Collegiate Hockey Association both moved their postseason tournaments to home sites because of poor attendance. Those leagues alternated years at Xcel Energy Center, which said the NCHC tournament will run there through 2022, beginning March 16-17, 2018.

The NCHC includes defending national champion Denver; last season's NCHC tournament champion Minnesota Duluth, which was NCAA runner-up; and 2016 NCAA champion North Dakota; St. Cloud State; Colorado College; Western Michigan; Miami (Ohio); and Omaha.