All-Big Ten Gophers shortstop Terrin Vavra was chosen first-team All-America, and starting pitchers Patrick Fredrickson and reliever Max Meyer made the second and third team, respectively on the Rawlings Division I All-America teams announced Saturday at the College World Series.

Minnesota, Oregon State, and Stanford are the only teams to be represented by three players on this year’s teams.

Vavra, a third-round pick of the Colorado Rockies, hit a team-best .386 with 59 RBI and 55 runs scored. His 10 homers and four triples also led the team.

Fredrickson made 19 appearances and 15 starts for the Gophers, posting a 9-0 record and 1.86 ERA during his rookie season. The Big Ten’s Pitcher and Freshman of the Year struck out 73 batters in 97 innings while walking just 27. Opponents batted just .209 against the righthander, whose ERA ranked 12th in the nation.

Meyer, also an All-Big Ten selection, recorded 16 saves in 26 relief appearances for the Gophers, posting a 2-3 record and 2.06 ERA in 43⅔ innings, with 54 strikeouts and 13 walks.

• Gophers pitcher Reggie Meyer, a redshirt junior, signed a contract with the Texas Rangers on Saturday. Meyer, selected in the 38th round earlier this month, was 8-3 with a 2.62 ERA for the Gophers this season.


• Nominations closed Friday for five stakes races — The Mystic Lake Derby, Lady Canterbury fillies turf race, Mystic Lake Mile, Dark Star Derby and Hoist Her Flag Stakes — that were to be run at Canterbury Park on Saturday, the richest night of racing at the racetrack. The five stakes making up the Mystic Lake Northern Stars Racing Festival that pays a total of $500,000 in purse money, with the Mystic Lake Derby offering $200,000 alone.

• The St. Paul Saints signed bullpen catcher Connor Olson after losing their starting catcher, Justin O’Conner, on Friday to a dislocated thumb. Olson played four years at Concordia (St. Paul).