Three Gophers — junior running back Rodney Smith, sophomore wide receiver Tyler Johnson and junior offensive tackle Donnell Greene —received honorable mention on the Big Ten offensive all-conference team selected by media members and announced Wednesday, while Smith and Johnson received honorable mention on the coaches' team.

Smith led the Gophers with 977 rushing yards on 229 carries. He also was Minnesota's second-leading receiver with 17 catches for 107 yards, and had 363 yards in kickoff returns, giving him 1,447 all-purpose yards.

Johnson led the Gophers with 35 receptions for 677 yards and seven touchdowns.

U linebacker to leave

Gophers sophomore linebacker Jaylen Waters announced that he will transfer at the end of the semester, becoming the fifth player since the season ended on Saturday to announce his intention to leave the program.

Waters, of Killeen, Texas, played in 10 games this season, making seven tackles. He played in 13 games in 2016, finishing with seven tackles and one pass breakup.

Waters joins quarterback Demry Croft and receivers Rashad Still, Hunter Register and Melvin Holland Jr. as players who are transferring.

Randy Johnson

Curling subs picked

Cory Christensen and Joe Polo of Duluth were named alternates for the women's and men's curling teams that will represent the U.S. at the 2018 Winter Olympics in Pyeongchang, South Korea.

Christensen skipped one of three women's teams at the Olympic trials earlier this month, won by Team Nina Roth.

She was the alternate for Roth's team at the 2017 world championships and is the third Team Roth athlete with Minnesota connections, joining Aileen Geving of Duluth and Tabitha Peterson of Minneapolis.

Polo has served as alternate for Team John Shuster, winner of the men's competition at the Olympic Trials, since 2016. He was teammates with Shuster on the U.S. team that won an Olympic bronze medal in 2006. Polo joins three other Minnesota natives on the team going to Pyeongchang: Shuster (Chisholm), Tyler George (Duluth) and John Landsteiner (Mapleton).

Rachel Blount

Coach's back in city

Faith Johnson Patterson will coach another Minneapolis City Conference girls' basketball team this season.

On Tuesday, the Minnesota Hall of Fame coach started as Edison's coach. She coached at Minneapolis North from 1995 to 2009, leading the Polars to five state titles and later won three more state titles at DeLaSalle.

But she was asked to resign at Eden Prairie after her second season there and took the Edison job after it unexpectedly opened.

David La Vaque

Moore to get award

Maya Moore, of the WNBA champion Lynx will be among the athletes honored at this year's Sports Illustrated Sportsperson of the Year Awards at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, N.Y., on Tuesday.

Moore has been named the Performer of the Year. She not only led the Lynx to the 2017 WNBA title, but over the past eight years, dating back to college at UConn, Moore has been a key player on more than 12 teams that have won championships.

The show will be televised on NBCSN at 7 p.m. on Dec. 8.

Kent Youngblood

Two honored in soccer

Senior forward Sydney Squires of the Gophers was named to the first All-Midwest Region women's soccer team and senior defender Tori Burnett to the third.