Six Minnesotans were named to the under-18 U.S. select team that will compete in the Ivan Hlinka Memorial hockey tournament in the Czech Republic and Slovakia in August.

They are forwards Garrett Wait of Edina, Casey Mittelstadt of Eden Prairie and Riley Tufte of Blaine; defensemen Sam Rossini of Burnsville and Scott Perunovich of Hibbing, and goalie Dayton Rasmussen of Eden Prairie.

Eight named to state Boxing Hall of Fame

The Minnesota Boxing Hall of Fame will induct eight new members on Oct. 2 at Mystic Lake Casino.

Boxers Danny Davis, Duane Horsman and Mel Brown were elected in the modern category, while heavyweights Art Lasky and Charley Retzlaff were named in the old-timers' category.

Former St. Paul Pioneer Press boxing writer Jim Wells and promoters Sammy Gallop and Mike Collins also will be inducted.

Ex-women's hockey coach stays in WCHA

Jeff Giesen was recently named the associate head coach for the Minnesota State Mankato women's hockey coach. Giesen was the head coach of the St. Cloud State women's team the past eight seasons.

"We're excited we are able to have someone with Jeff's experience and background join our staff," Mavericks coach John Harrington said.

Giesen also was on the men's hockey staff at St. John's, where he worked with Harrington as an assistant coach from 1992-98 and an associate head coach from 1998-2003.

In that time, the Johnnies won MIAC titles in 1996, '97 and 2003.