Two MIAC women’s teams and one MIAC men’s team were chosen for the NCAA Division III hockey playoffs Monday.

Gustavus Adolphus (20-3-4), the women’s MIAC co-champion, earned an at-large bid and will play host to WIAC champion Wisconsin-Eau Claire (18-6-5) on Friday. The winner will play MIAC tournament champion Hamline (20-4-3) on Saturday.

MIAC men’s playoff champion Augsburg (18-9) will play host to Marian (20-7-1) in the first round Saturday.

Mr. Basketball final 5

Apple Valley’s Tre Jones, DeLaSalle’s Gabe Kalscheur, Caledonia’s Owen King, Cretin-Derham Hall’s Daniel Oturu and Delano’s Calvin Wishart were named the finalists for Minnesota’s Mr. Basketball award.


• Thomas Longbella and Angus Flanagan were tied for 19th place, and the Gophers golf team remained in seventh after two days at Auburn’s 17-team Tiger Invitational.

• The Gophers men’s hockey team fell four spots to No. 15 in the United States College Hockey Online poll. The Gophers women moved up two spots to No. 5.

News services