Gophers junior defenseman Mike Reilly was named one of 10 Hobey Baker Award finalists on Thursday. The award will be given at the Frozen Four on April 10 in Boston after the candidates are cut to three on April 2.

Reilly has six goals and 36 assists for 42 points, best among college defensemen, and was named the Big Ten defensive player of the year earlier this week.

North Dakota junior Zane McIntyre, a Thief River Falls, Minn., native, is the only goalie among the finalists. He is UND's all-time leader in career goals-against average a.

The other finalists: Daniel Ciampini, Union; Jack Eichel, Boston University; Matt Garbowsky, RIT; Zach Hyman, Michigan; Tanner Kero, Michigan Tech; Joey LaLeggia, Denver; Jimmy Vesey, Harvard, and Cody Wydo, Robert Morris. All of them are forwards except LaLeggia, who is a defenseman.

Jason Gonzalez


• North Dakota's Dave Hakstol was named the NCHC's coach of the year before the Frozen Faceoff. Three UND players also got top conference awards: McIntyre, goalie of the year; Mark MacMillian, defensive forward of the year, and senior defenseman Nick Mattson, the scholar-athlete of the year. LaLeggia of the Pioneers was named player, defenseman and offensive player of the year. Teammate Danton Heinen, a forward, was rookie of the year and Trevor Moore, forward of the year.