The Gophers won the decisive game of their three-game baseball series at Long Beach State, pounding out 21 hits in a 19-6 victory Sunday.

The Gophers’ hits included 11 doubles and Jordan Kozicky’s second home run of the weekend. Long Beach State (3-15) had 14 hits but stranded 11 runners, and the Gophers took advantage of six Long Beach State errors.

Kozicky went 3-for-5 at the plate with two runs and six RBI, including a three-run homer. Max Meyer was 3-for-4 with two runs, a double, an RBI and a walk. Eli Wilson and Andrew Wilhite had two doubles apiece.

The Gophers (5-12) sent 12 batters to the plate in an eight-run ninth that included four doubles and Kozicky’s home run.

U softball posts shutout

The Gophers softball team blanked South Florida 3-0 on Sunday, concluding a weekend in Tampa, Fla., in which it won four of five games. Maddie Houlihan’s two-run double broke a scoreless tie in the third, and freshman Natalie DenHartog homered three innings later for the Gophers (19-8).

Amber Fiser (11-5) allowed three hits and ran her scoreless-innings streak to 25. Sydney Smith finished with a 1-2-3 seventh.

Gophers gymnasts win

Sophomore Shane Wiskus won event titles with career-best scores on parallel bars and high bar and freshman Garrett Kasiski won the vault and placed third on the rings for the sixth-ranked Gophers in their victory over No. 13 Air Force in a men’s gymnastics dual at the Maturi Pavilion. The score was 402.050 to 387.350.


• The Gophers men’s golf team placed 10th at the 14-team Schenkel Invitational in Statesboro, Ga., closing with a 4-over 292, its best round of the tournament. Sophomore Angus Flanagan was the top Gophers finisher, tying for 21st at 2-over-par 218. Host Georgia Southern won the team title by 13 strokes, at 26-under 838.

• Kacie Borowicz (Roseau), Dlayla Chakolis (Hopkins), McKenna Hofschild (Prior Lake), Frannie Hottinger (Cretin-Derham Hall) and Sara Scalia (Stillwater) were announced as the five finalists for 2019 Miss Basketball.

• St. Thomas freshman guard Anders Nelson (Edina) was selected National Rookie of the Year in Division III men’s basketball by He is the first MIAC men’s player to receive the award.


news services