Gophers sophomore defenseman Ryan Collins is one of five Minnesota natives among 29 players invited to the U.S. junior national team camp. Collins, of Bloomington, was a member of last year's team.

The 23 players competing in the World Championships from Dec. 26-Jan. 5 in Helsinki will be chosen after camps in Boston (Dec. 14-18) and Finland (Dec. 19-24).

Other Minnesotans invited: forwards Kieffer Bellows (Edina), Paul Bittner (Crookston) and Brock Boeser (Burnsville), and defensemen Will Borgen (Moorhead).

Bellows plays for the U.S. development team, Bittner for Portland of the Western Hockey League, Boeser for North Dakota and Borgen for St. Cloud State.

Wild prospect Louie Belpedio, who plays at Miami (Ohio), also was invited.


• Forward Jordan Murphy of the Gophers was named the Big Ten freshman of the week. He averaged 21.5 points, 13.5 games and 2.0 steals as Minnesota beat Clemson but lost in overtime to South Dakota.

• Northwestern junior forward Nia Coffey, a former Hopkins star, was named to the Big Ten honor roll. She averaged 21.5 points and 12.5 rebounds in two wins.

• Goalkeeper Mitch Hildebrandt and defender Tyler Polak have left Minnesota United FC. Hildebrandt played four seasons for United and Polak two.

• Big Ten teams Michigan and Penn State both moved up three spots in the national hockey poll, Michigan to No. 9 and Penn State to No. 16. North Dakota is No. 4, St. Cloud State No. 6.