Five Gophers divers — three women and two men — qualified for the NCAA swimming and diving championships with their performances this week at the Zone D Diving Championships in Columbia, Mo.

Yu Zhou won the 3- and 1-meter diving events. The senior from Wuhan, China, was the NCAA 3-meter champion in 2015 when she was named the diver of the year at that meet. Teammates Sarah Bacon and Lexi Tenenbaum also advanced in the 3- and 1-meter events. Bacon was second on the 3-meter board.

Tenenbaum finished third on platform on Wednesday, the last day of the zone meet, to advance in that event as well.

On the men’s side, Matt Barnard advanced in all three diving events, and Alan LeBlang in the 3-meter and platform. Barnard’s best finishes were thirds on the 3-meter board and platform.

The women’s NCAA meet will be March 15-18, the men’s meet March 22-25, both in Indianapolis.

U wins in ninth

Toby Hanson’s two-out double in the bottom of the ninth inning drove in the winning run as the Gophers beat Wisconsin-Milwaukee 5-4 in nonconference baseball at U.S. Bank Stadium. Luke Pettersen singled and Terrin Vavra was hit by a pitch to lead off the inning.

Minnesota (8-4) scored two runs in the seventh on Micah Coffey’s RBI single and an error to take a 4-3 lead.


• St. John’s wrestling coach Brandon Novak will be among five individuals inducted into the Division III National Wrestling Coaches Association Hall of Fame on Thursday in La Crosse, Wis., before the start of this year’s national tournament. Novak, a native of Becker, Minn., was a three-time All-America and the 2001 national champion at 197 pounds for the Johnnies.

• The Northern Collegiate Hockey Association named St. Scholastic athletic director Don Olson its commissioner.

• Matt Higgins, the MIAC’s assistant executive director, is leaving to become the senior communications coordinator for the city of Minnetonka.