Maggie Nichols of Little Canada is among seven women who will compete for the United States at the world gymnastics championships Oct. 23-Nov. 1 in Glasgow, Scotland.

The team was named Thursday after a selection camp at the Karolyi Ranch in Huntsville, Texas. Nichols, 18, has been part of the U.S. national team since 2013 and was the silver medalist in the all-around competition at the national championships in August. She trains with the Twin City Twisters club in Champlin. Other members of the team are two-time world all-around champion Simone Biles; 2012 Olympic all-around champion Gabrielle Douglas; 2012 Olympic floor exercise gold medalist Aly Raisman; and Brenna Dowell, Madison Kocian and MyKayla Skinner.

The top eight teams at the world championships will qualify their countries for the team competition at the 2016 Olympics in Rio de Janeiro.

Rachel Blount

Jorgensen recognized

Triathlete Gwen Jorgensen, who won her second consecutive world championship last month, is among the recipients of the U.S. Olympic Committee’s “Best of September’’ award.

Jorgensen of St. Paul completed an undefeated season with a victory in the ITU World Triathlon Grand Final in Chicago on Sept. 18.

She has won 12 consecutive ITU World Triathlon Series events and has earned a place on the U.S. Olympic team for the 2016 Rio Games.

Rachel Blount

U soccer team wins

Simone Kolander scored two first-half goals, the first on a penalty kill in the sixth minute, to lead the No. 14-rated Gophers to a 3-0 road victory at Nebraska on Thursday in Big Ten women’s soccer. The junior forward now has nine goals for Minnesota (10-2-2, 5-1 conference).

Sophomore forward Sydney Squires had the third goal for the Gophers in the 75th minute against the Cornhuskers (5-5-2, 1-3-2).


Augsburg honors 8

Eight individuals were inducted into Augsburg College’s Athletic Hall of Fame on Thursday.

The honorees were Luther Bakken (football, track and field, 1972 graduate), Barb Blomberg (volleyball, basketball, ’87), Scot Davis (wrestling, ’74), Jeff Kaeppe (football, ’95), Kerri Kangas (volleyball, softball, ’98), Paul Meissner (basketball, ’78), Mike Pfeffer (wrestling, ’92) and Peter Rutili (hockey, ’95).