Danez Smith. Star Tribune file photo

Danez Smith. Star Tribune file photo

“Summer, somewhere,” a sequence of poems by Minneapolis poet Danez Smith, has won the inaugural Four Quartets Prize from the Poetry Society of America and the T.S. Eliot Foundation. The award comes with a $20,000 prize. It is given annually for award is given annually for a unified and complete sequence of poems. This year's judges were Linda Gregerson, Ishion Hutchinson, and Jana Prikryl.
The "summer, somewhere" sequence is from Smith’s collection, “Don’t Call Us Dead,” published last fall by Minneapolis’ Graywolf Press. The book was a finalist for a National Book Award.
Smith, 28, was born in St. Paul and now lives in Minneapolis. They started out as a spoken-word performance artist and have performed all over the world.  Smith has also won fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Poetry Foundation and the McKnight Foundation.

Older Post

Five Minnesota writers receive McKnight grants

Newer Post

Mpls writer Lesley Nneka Arimah a MacDowell fellow--again