And the winners of the Metro Transit Police Department's Officer of the Year are... drum roll please ... Daniel Wallace and Matthew Wilkinson.

The two beat patrol officers who work in downtown St. Paul shared the department's highest honor, which was given out Thursday during the 18th annual Awards Ceremony at the Dance Studio Event Center. It marked the first time Metro Transit has named two Officers of the Year since the awards program was started.

In all, 16 officers and three civilians were honored for their actions that created a safer community and transit environment, said Chief John Harrington.

Wallace and Wilkinson were lauded for building strong relationships and proactively addressing safety issues in downtown St. Paul. Wallace and Wilkinson began their careers at Metro Transit in 2011 as Community Service Officers.  

"Wallace and Wilkinson represent the best traditions of law enforcement," Harrington said. "Together, this strong team demonstrates an outstanding commitment to the department and to all those who live, work and use transit in downtown St. Paul."

Michael Sheady, who works full time as a sergeant with the Lakeville Police Department and part-who displays exceptional professionalism and dedication.

Other award winners:

Chief's Award of Merit: Lt. Jason Lindner, and Sgt. Mario Ruberto

Award of Merit: Sgt. Aaron Harp, Noah LaBathe and Wilkinson

Certificate of Appreciation: Officer Josh Scharber

Award of Commendation: Officers Jason Michaud and Michael Leubner- 

Citizen’s Award of Merit: Lynnaia Young, Cha Vang and Zehra Gumus-Dawes


Metro Transit Photo: General Manager Brian Lamb, Wallace, Wilkinson, and Chief John Harrington. 



Older Post

Ad wraps coming to Maple Grove Transit buses

Newer Post

Keeping tabs on Monday's morning commute