Matt Blair will be the 2012 inductee into the Vikings Ring of Honor, it was announced today.

Blair will go in at halftime of the Vikings-Tampa Bay game on Thursday, Oct. 25.

A linebacker, Blair ranks second in team history (behind Scott Studwell) in career tackles.

Here is the Vikings' release:


Former Minnesota Vikings LB Matt Blair will be inducted as the 20th member of the Vikings Ring of Honor on Thursday, October 25, 2012, at halftime of the Vikings-Buccaneers game at Mall of America Field.

Originally a second round draft pick (#51) in 1974, Blair played in 160 career games (130 starts) for the Vikings and still ranks 2nd in team history with 1,452 career tackles. Only Scott Studwell and Roy Winston played in more games as a linebacker than Blair.

Regarded as a highly productive player with a knack for being in the right place at the right time, Blair holds the Vikings record with 20 blocked kicks, notching two blocks in a single game three different times. His 23.0 sacks and 16 interceptions also rank as the most by a Vikings linebacker.

The Iowa State grad was a part of Vikings playoff teams in six of his opening seven seasons with the team and played on the Vikings Super Bowl IX and XI teams. He was named to the Pro Bowl in six straight seasons from 1977-82, tying him for the fifth-most Pro Bowl berths by a Viking in club history, and was named All-Pro in 1980. Among Vikings defensive players, only Alan Page had more Pro Bowl honors (9) than Blair.

Inductee Year
Fran Tarkenton 1998
Alan Page 1998
Jim Finks 1998
Bud Grant 1998
Paul Krause 1998
Fred Zamberletti 1998
Jim Marshall 1999
Ron Yary 2001
Korey Stringer 2001
Mick Tinglehoff 2001
Carl Eller 2002
Cris Carter 2003
Bill Brown 2004
Jerry Burns 2005
Randall McDaniel 2006
Chuck Foreman 2007
John Randle 2008
Scott Studwell 2009
Chris Doleman 2011
Matt Blair 2012