Marlon James of Macalester College and Claudia Rankine, published by Graywolf Press, are both finalists for a PEN Literary Award. Star Tribune file photo.

The PEN literary awards longlist was announced today, with titles by Minneapolis publishers Graywolf Press and Coffee House Press on the list. Winners will be announced May 13 and will be honored at a ceremony in June in New York City.

Here are the finalists, with links to Star Tribune reviews when available:

PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize for Debut Fiction ($25,000)

The UnAmericans (W. W. Norton & Company), Molly Antopol 

Ruby (Hogarth), Cynthia Bond 

Black Moon (Hogarth), Kenneth Calhoun 

Redeployment (Penguin Press), Phil Klay

Ride Around Shining (Harper), Chris Leslie-Hynan

The Dog (Farrar, Straus and Giroux), Jack Livings

The Wives of Los Alamos (Bloomsbury), TaraShea Nesbit

The Heaven of Animals (Simon & Schuster), David James Poissant

Love Me Back (Doubleday), Merritt Tierce

Time of the Locust  (Atria Books), Morowa Yejidé 

PEN/Diamonstein-Spielvogel Award for the Art of the Essay ($10,000)

Moral Imagination (Princeton University Press), David Bromwich

Theater of Cruelty (New York Review Books), Ian Buruma

Loitering (Tin House Books), Charles D’Ambrosio

Surrendering Oz (Etruscan Press), Bonnie Friedman

The Hard Way on Purpose (Scribner), David Giffels

Where Have You Been? (Farrar, Straus and Giroux), Michael Hofmann

The Empathy Exams (Graywolf Press), Leslie Jamison

Sidewalks (Coffee House Press), Valeria Luiselli

Limber (Sarabande Books), Angela Pelster

You Feel So Mortal (University Of Chicago Press), Peggy Shinner 

PEN/E.O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award ($10,000): 

War of the Whales (Simon & Schuster), Joshua Horwitz 

How We Got to Now (Riverhead Books), Steven Johnson

The Tale of the Dueling Neurosurgeons (Little, Brown and Company), Sam Kean

The Sixth Extinction (Henry Holt and Co.), Elizabeth Kolbert

Small (Dartmouth College Press), Catherine Musemeche MD

The Age of Radiance (Scribner), Craig Nelson

Proof (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt), Adam Rogers

The Copernicus Complex (Scientific American/Farrar, Straus and Giroux), Caleb Scharf

Arrival of the Fittest (Current), Andreas Wagner 

PEN/John Kenneth Galbraith Award for Nonfiction ($10,000): 

Our Declaration (Liveright), Danielle Allen

All the Truth Is Out (Alfred A. Knopf), Matt Bai

League of Denial (Crown Archetype), Mark Fainaru-Wada & Steve Fainaru

Five Days at Memorial (Crown), Sheri Fink

The Big Truck That Went By (Palgrave Macmillan), Jonathan M. Katz

This Changes Everything (Simon & Schuster), Naomi Klein

The Bill of the Century (Bloomsbury), Clay Risen

The Impulse Society (Bloomsbury), Paul Roberts

A Chance to Win (Henry Holt and Co.), Jonathan Schuppe

Powers of Two (Eamon Dolan Books), Joshua Wolf Shenk 

PEN Open Book Award ($5,000): 

An Unnecessary Woman (Grove Press), Rabih Alameddine

Fire Shut Up in My Bones (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt), Charles M. Blow

Team Seven (Doubleday), Marcus Burke

Every Day Is for the Thief (Random House), Teju Cole

An Untamed State (Black Cat), Roxane Gay

Streaming (Coffee House Press), Allison Adelle Hedge Coke 

A Brief History of Seven Killings (Riverhead Books), Marlon James

Kinder Than Solitude (Random House), Yiyun Li 

Citizen (Graywolf Press), Claudia Rankine

The Fateful Apple (Urban Poets and Lyricists), Venus Thrash

The City Son (Soho Press), Samrat Upadhyay 

PEN/Jacqueline Bograd Weld Award for Biography ($5,000): 

Updike (Harper), Adam Begley

Isabella (Nan A. Talese), Kirstin Downey

Rebel Yell (Scribner), S. C. Gwynne

The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace (Scribner), Jeff Hobbs

John Quincy Adams (Harper), Fred Kaplan

Strange Glory (Alfred A. Knopf), Charles Marsh

Becoming Richard Pryor (Harper), Scott Saul

The Queen's Bed (Sarah Crichton Books), Anna Whitelock

Victoria (Penguin Press), A. N. Wilson

Piero's Light (Pegasus Books), Larry Witham 

PEN/ESPN Award for Literary Sports Writing ($5,000): 

Boy on Ice (W. W. Norton & Company), John Branch

Why Football Matters (Penguin Press), Mark Edmundson

Black Noon (Thomas Dunne Books), Art Garner

All Fishermen are Liars (Simon & Schuster), John Gierach

Ping-Pong Diplomacy (Scribner), Nicholas Griffin

Bird Dream (Penguin Press), Matt Higgins

Thrown (Sarabande Books), Kerry Howley

Deep (Eamon Dolan Books), James Nestor

Life Is a Wheel (Scribner), Bruce Weber 

PEN Award for Poetry in Translation ($3,000): 

Sorrowtoothpaste Mirrorcream by Kim Hyesoon (Action Books), Don Mee Choi

Love Poems by Bertolt Brecht (Liveright), David Constantine & Tom Kuhn

I Am the Beggar of the World (Farrar, Straus and Giroux), Eliza Griswold

Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz by Juana Inés de la Cruz (W. W. Norton & Company), Edith Grossman

Where Are the Trees Going? by Venus Khoury-Ghata (Curbstone Books), Marilyn Hacker

Breathturn into Timestead by Paul Celan (Farrar, Straus and Giroux), Pierre Joris

Guantanamo by Frank Smith (Les Figues Press), Vanessa Place

Skin by Tone Škrjanec (Tavern Books), Matthew Rohrer & Ana Pepelnik

Diana's Tree by Alejandra Pizarnik (Ugly Duckling Presse), Yvette Siegert

Autoepitaph by Reinaldo Arenas (University Press of Florida), Kelly Washbourne 

PEN Translation Prize ($3,000)

Trans-Atlantyk by Witold Gombrowicz (Yale/Margellos), Danuta Borchardt 

The Gray Notebook by Josep Pla (New York Review Books), Peter Bush 

The Symmetry Teacher by Andrei Bitov (Farrar, Straus and Giroux), Polly Gannon 

The Master of Confessions by Thierry Cruvellier (Ecco), Alex Gilly 

The Man Who Loved Dogs by Leonardo Padura (Farrar, Straus and Giroux), Anna Kushner

I Ching (Viking Books), John Minford 

Baboon by Naja Marie Aidt (Two Lines Press), Denise Newman 

Texas: The Great Theft by Carmen Boullosa (Deep Vellum Publishing), Samantha Schnee

Self-Portrait in Green by Marie NDiaye (Two Lines Press), Jordan Stump 

The Woman Who Borrowed Memories by Tove Jansson (New York Review Books), Thomas Teal & Silvester Mazzarella 

Older Post

PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction finalists named

Newer Post

Five writers win McKnight Artist Fellowships