Legislative leaders on Tuesday announced committee deadlines of when legislators are expected to act on bills advancing through the statehouse. 

Senate Majority Leader Tom Bakk, DFL-Cook, and House Speaker Kurt Daudt, R-Crown, set April 1, as the first deadline for committees to act favorably on bills in the legislative body in which they originated.

That's less than a month after the Legislature is expected to convene. The 2016 session be short and will take place in a Capitol building that is still undergoing renovation. Senate floor sessions will be held in the soon-to-be-opened Senate office building. 

The second deadline for bills that meet the first deadline is April 8. The third deadline, April 21, is for the House Ways and Means Committee and the Senate Finance Committee to act on bills.

Older Post

Gov. Mark Dayton seeks federal money for clean water, habitat

Newer Post

White House Chief of Staff Denis McDonough coming to Iron Range next week