Wings Locked Up and jockey Orlando Mojica led from start to finish in the $50,000 Dark Star Cup on Saturday at Canterbury Park. The Dark Star Cup was one of four stakes on Canterbury's 10-race program and was Mojica's second stakes win of the day. One race earlier, he guided Some Say So to victory in the $50,000 Minnesota Turf Distaff.

A P Is Loose, with Dean Butler aboard, won the $50,000 Minnesota Turf Stakes by a neck over Plenty of Sun. The win was the 6-year-old Minnesota-bred's eighth victory at Canterbury and boosted his career earnings to $319,153. A P Is Loose is owned by Joel Zamzow of Duluth and is trained by Mac Robertson. He paid $3.20 to win.

Wings Locked Up paid $6.40 as the second wagering choice. The 5-year-old is owned by Sad Sac Racing and is trained by Clinton Stuart.

Some Say So, who won by 1¾ lengths over First Hunter, is trained by Judd Becker for owners Tim Rosin, Patti Miller and Mark Kane. Some Say So returned $10.80 to win.

La Mos Pyc, ridden by Stormy Smith, won the $32,750 Gopher State Derby, covering 400 yards in 20.57 seconds. The 3-year-old quarter horse filly is trained by Lori Harris and owned by Thomas Scheckel.

This was the first stakes win for Harris.

Area thrower second

Arizona State's Maggie Ewen, a junior from St. Francis, took second place in the discus in the NCAA women's track and field meet in Eugene, Ore. Earlier, she had won the hammer throw for the Sun Devils.

Ewen's best throw in the discus was her last, sailing 60.11 meters. Shadae Lawrence of Kansas State won the event with a throw of 61.37.

• The Gophers Madeline Strandemo, a junior from Fargo, placed ninth in the steeplechase. Her time was 10 minutes, 4.62 seconds. She was the Big Ten champion in the event. Teammate Taylor Wiebke, a sophomore from Mantorville, Minn., tied for 21st in the high jump, clearing 5-8.

DuToit still leads

Former Gopher Jon DuToit of Chaska Town Course remained in first place after the second round of the TapeMark Charity Pro-Am. After an opening 8-under 63, he shot a 70 Saturday for a 36-hole total of 133.

Brian Seiwert of Burl Oaks is second, two shots back after a 68. Tied for third are Tim Brovold of Bunker Hills and Ryan Helminen of Ridgeway at 136.

NSIC to honor four

Four individuals will be inducted into to the NSIC Hall of Fame in 2017. They are: Kristen (Schmidt) Soukup, Concordia (St. Paul), softball; Louis "Nicky" Johnson Jr., Minnesota Duluth, basketball; Brett Beeson, Minnesota State Moorhead, basketball, and Butch Raymond, Minnesota State Mankato men's basketball coach and NSIC commissioner.

The induction ceremony will be held July 11 at the Best Western Premier in Burnsville at the NSIC's 18th summer kickoff event.

Saints add Crenshaw

He was a member of the best starting rotation in St. Paul Saints history in 2015. And now former 14-game winner Dustin Crenshaw is back. He signed with the American Association team on Friday and pitched that night against the Kansas City T-Bones.

Crenshaw, 28, pitched for Vaqueros de la Laguna in Mexico the past two seasons.

Eagan names coach

Josh Peltier was named the Eagan boys' basketball coach.