Senior pitcher Sara Groenewegen and freshman catcher Kendyl Lindaman of the Gophers were both named to the National Fastpitch Coaches Association All-America first team. This is the first time Minnesota’s program has had two players on the first team.

Groenewegen, the first three-time All-America player for the Gophers, went 31-4 with a 0.63 ERA and 307 strikeouts in her last and best season. Lindaman hit .426 with 20 home runs and 76 RBI.

Minnesota won the Big Ten regular-season title and tournament but wasn't picked to host an NCAA regional despite being ranked No. 1 in the country at the end of the regular season. The Gophers lost twice to host Alabama, which went on to lose to Florida in a super regional.

Bueckers on U.S. team

Hopkins star Paige Bueckers survived the final cut and is one of the 12 players named to the under-16 U.S. girls’ basketball team that will play in the FIBA Americas Championships next week in Argentina.

The freshman guard helped lead Hopkins to the 2017 Class 4A title game in which the Royals lost to Elk River.

Former U kicker transfers to Rutgers

Former Gophers kicker Andrew Harte has transferred to Rutgers.

Harte, an Illinois native who saw limited action in three seasons, can compete right away there as a graduate transfer. Harte joins Jerry Kill, the Scarlet Knights’ offensive coordinator under second-year head coach Chris Ash.




• Frankie Capan, an Alabama men’s golf commit from North Oaks, teamed up with Ben Wong to win the USGA Amateur Four-Ball championship at Pinehurst Country Club in North Carolina. They defeated Clark Collier and Kyle Hudelson, two Oklahoma City natives in their late 20s, in the final match 2 & 1.

• Belen Mozo of Palm Beach Gardens, Fla., shot a 141 total for two rounds for medalist honors at a U.S. Women’s Open sectional qualifier at Legends Club in Prior Lake. Also advancing was runner-up Casey Danielson of Osceola, Wis., with a 142.

• Redshirt freshman Jordan Kozicky was named the Dick Siebert MVP Memorial Award winner at the Gophers baseball team’s postseason banquet. Senior outfielder Jordan Smith was chosen the Dugout Club Player of the Year and junior Lucas Gilbreath the Dave Winfield Pitcher of the Year.

• The St. Paul Saints beat host Cleburne 10-2 behind Nate Hanson’s three hits and three RBI. The Saints also signed righthander Ryan Zimmerman, who played for Sioux City last season.

• The Gophers’s swimming and diving teams announced five signings. The men’s team signed freshmen swimmers, Hayden Linscott of Mission Hills, Kan., and Evan Yoder of Lawrence, Kan., and junior diver Xi Yang of Chao Hu, China. The women’s team signed freshman swimmer Krissy Van Laarhoven of Armstrong and junior diver Xiao Fu of Qingdao, China.

• Incoming Minnesota freshman swimmer Mackenzie Padington won three events — the 200-, 400- and 800-meter freestyles — at the Mel Zajac Jr. International last weekend in Vancouver..

• Sophomore Lucille Moran of Macalester was named to the Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches Division III All-America women’s second team. The Scots’ Scott Reed was named the Division III Coach of the Year.