Round 1 MVP

Gabe Kalscheur, Gophers

The 6-4 freshman guard from DeLaSalle scored 16 of his game-high 24 points in the second half, including four of his five three-pointers. He also had a career-high eight rebounds in 38 minutes.


2013 The last year the Gophers won an NCAA tournament game. Tubby Smith and the Gophers beat UCLA 83-63 in Austin, Texas.

86 Points by Minnesota’s starters, including 49 points from Murphy, Coffey and McBrayer, who were on the 2017 NCAA tournament team. According to CBS, Minnesota became the first team to win a first-round game without a single point from the bench since Norfolk State in 2012.

11-for-27 Gophers’ three-point shooting Thursday, including 5-for-11 from Kalscheur.

17 Second-chance points for the Gophers, on 11 offensive rebounds.