Gophers defensive end Carter Coughlin and linebacker Blake Cashman earned second-team All-Big Ten honors, and four teammates received honorable mention, the conference announced Tuesday.

The Big Ten released its all-conference defensive and special teams, with honorees selected on separate votes by coaches and media members. The All-Big Ten offensive teams will be announced Wednesday afternoon (4 p.m., BTN).

Earning honorable mention for the Gophers were safety Jacob Huff, kicker Emmit Carpenter and punter Jacob Herbers by both coaches and media, and return specialist Demetrius Douglas by the media.

Coughlin, a junior, was named second team by both the coaches and media. He tied for the Big Ten lead in 9.5 sacks and had 15 tackles for loss, which tied Cashman for the team lead. He also forced four fumbles and made 46 tackles, 32 solo, this season.

Cashman, a senior, was named to the second team by media and third team by coaches. He led the Gophers with 104 tackles, which tied for fifth in the conference, broke up five passes and forced a fumble, which he returned 40 yards for a touchdown.

Huff, a senior, had 85 tackles, seven pass breakups, four force fumbles and two interceptions. Carpenter, a senior, made 15 of 20 field-goal attempts and led the Gophers with 84 points. Herbers, a junior, averaged 41.2 yards on 51 punts and opponents returned only nine punts for 10 yards. Douglas, a freshman, averaged 16.1 yards on seven punt returns, including a 69-yard return for a touchdown against Wisconsin. He also averaged 24.8 yards on 24 kickoff returns.

The Big Ten also announced the following awards:

Coach of the year: Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern (coaches and media)

Defensive player of the year: Devin Bush, LB, Michigan

Defensive lineman of the year: Kenny Willekes, Michigan State

Linebacker of the year: Bush

Defensive back of the year: Amani Hooker, CB, Iowa (Park Center High School graduate)

Here is a complete look at the All-Big Ten defensive and special teams: