Friday Recap

Three Stars

1. Ryan Sandelin, Hermantown, F: Scored four goals, including the winner in overtime, to fuel Hermantown's improbable come-from-behind victory over St. Cloud Cathedral. His first goal tied the game, his third goal changed the game's momentum and the fourth sent his team to the title game.

2. Nick Zwack, Monticello/Annandale/Maple Lake, F: Fired 100-foot passes to twice spring teammates in for breakaways, then scored the winner against Northfield with 2.3 seconds left.

3. Lance Leonard, Moorhead, G: Outplayed for stretches and outshot overall in their semifinal victory against Lakeville South, the Spuds leaned on Leonard. He responded, stopping 39 of 41 shots. "Luckily, we had Lance," Moorhead coach Jon Ammerman said.



Seconds needed for St. Cloud Cathedral to score three second-period goals and take a 5-2 lead against Hermantown. Reagan Garden, Connor Betz and Jake VanHalbeck each scored during the blur.


Consecutive Class 1A championship games in which Hermantown has appeared. And the number of times Moorhead has reached the title game since 1992.


Combined players from Eden Prairie and Grand Rapids who have made Division I college commitments. Sharing the ice in Friday's semifinal were the Eagles' Jack Jensen (Gophers), Nick Leivermann (Notre Dame) and Casey Mittelstadt (Gophers), along with the Thunderhawks' Gavin Hain (North Dakota), Blake McLaughlin (Gophers) and Micah Miller (St. Cloud State).


"In the '90s they weren't alive. They're writing their own history right now."

Moorhead coach Jon Ammerman, shielding players from repeated questions about the Spuds' 0-for-7 history in championship games.

Attendance Friday at Xcel Energy Center was 33,708. The Class 2A evening session drew 21,485 while the Class 1A session during the day had attendance of 12,223.