Jenny Offill

Jenny Offill

The Folio Prize short list was announced today, a stellar lineup of novels from around the world. The prize carries an award of 40,000 British pounds; the winner will be announced March 23.  Last year's winner was "The Tenth of December," by George Saunders. 

Here's the list, with links to Star Tribune review when available:

"10:04," by Ben Lerner 

"All My Puny Sorrows," by Miriam Towes

"Dept. of Speculation," by Jenny Offill

"Dust," by Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor

"Family Life," by Akhil Sharma

"How to Be Both," by Ali Smith

"Nora Webster," by Colm Toibin

"Outline," by Rachel Cusk

The short list was winnowed from a list of 80 titles nominated by the Folio Prize Academy. Judges included William Fiennes, Rachel Cooke, Moshin Hamid, A.M. Homes and Deborah Levy.

Older Post

A feast of love for Charles Baxter

Newer Post

Louise Erdrich to read from work-in-progress at her bookstore