Read more of this blog at startribune.com/local/blogs.
In case you missed it, the transportation bill signed into law by Gov. Mark Dayton increases the fines for drivers caught texting for the second time. The fine for the first offense is $50, but $225 for subsequent violations.
As a reminder, it's against the law to read or send e-mails or text messages or access the Internet while in traffic, even while stopped at a traffic light.
Drivers with a permit or provisional driver's license can't use the phone, except to call 911.
Last year, 3,200 drivers were ticketed for violating the texting-and-driving law, according to state records.
In April, Minnesota law enforcement officials cited 909 drivers in a six-day campaign conducted by the Minnesota Department of Public Safety Office of Traffic Safety.