The National Sports Media Association annually names a Sportswriter of the Year in each state. So how did the Star Tribune end up with two for 2017?

Columnist Chip Scoggins brought us one, earning it with his never-ending work ethic and eye for good stories.

The second comes from the state of Illinois, where they'll need to find a new winner in 2018. Chris Hine, formerly the Blackhawks beat writer at the Chicago Tribune, started the new year at the Star Tribune as our first sports analytics writer. You can find Chris' first story for North Score, our new analytics beat, in Wednesday's Star Tribune and online at

Scoggins in 2017 covered everything from P.J. Fleck's hiring to the Gophers' return to the NCAA men's basketball tournament to Jimmy Butler's arrival. In February, Scoggins will cover the Super Bowl on a Sunday and leave for the Winter Olympics in South Korea the next morning.

John Focke, who works Timberwolves games and is the Lynx play-by-play announcer, was named Minnesota Broadcaster of the Year.

Star Tribune Sports