Different strokes

A great regular season doesn’t guarantee a title, but to win the World Series you first have to get to the playoffs, then perform when it counts the most. A look at the past 10 champions and the statistics that defined their success:

2014: San Francisco

Only one pitcher had more than 12 wins, but he was an ace: Madison Bumgarner.


2013: Boston

Led AL in runs (853), OBP (.349) and slugging (.446), plus ace Jon Lester, left, went 4-1 in the postseason.

2012: San Francisco

The Giants had four starting pitchers who each had between 14 and 16 victories.


2011: St. Louis

Five pitchers with at least 11 victories, plus the Cardinals led the NL in runs (762) and OBP (.341).

2010: San Francisco

Led NL pitching in ERA (3.36) and strikeouts (1,331), while giving up the fewest hits (1,279).


2009: N.Y. Yankees

Led AL in runs (915), OBP (.363) and home runs (244). Plus they had Mariano Rivera.

2008: Philadelphia

Three players with at least 33 homers, second in runs (799), fourth in ERA (3.88).


2007: Boston

Josh Beckett won 20 games, staff led the AL in ERA (3.87) and David Ortiz led league in RBI (117).

2006: St. Louis

An ace in Chris Carpenter, and Albert Pujols had 49 HR and 137 RBI.


2005: Chicago White Sox

Staff led the AL in ERA (3.61), led by an ace in Mark Buehrle, right.