A look at a dynasty

North Dakota State on Saturday became the first team to win four consecutive Football Championship Subdivision national titles. A look at the Bison's remarkable four-year run:


Record: 14-1

Playoff results: Def. James Madison 26-14; def. Lehigh 24-0, def. Georgia Southern 35-7, def. Sam Houston State 17-6.

Comment: In their fourth season of FCS playoff eligibility, Bison win their first national title since claiming the 1990 NCAA Division II crown. Season included a 37-24 road victory over the Gophers.


Record: 14-1

Playoff results: Def. South Dakota State 28-3, def. Wofford 14-7, def. Georgia Southern 23-20, def. Sam Houston State 39-13.

Comment: Like all four titles in Bison's streak, season includes a victory against an FBS opponent, this one at Colorado State.


Record: 15-0

Playoff results: Def. Furman 38-7, def. Coastal Carolina 48-14, def. New Hampshire 52-14, def. Towson 35-7.

Comment: Season starts with a 24-21 victory at Kansas State and ends with a 173-42 steamrolling of playoff opponents in Craig Bohl's final year as NDSU coach.


Record: 14-1

Playoff results: Def. South Dakota State 27-24, def. Coastal Carolina 39-32, def. Sam Houston State 35-3, def. Illinois State 29-27.

Comment: First-year coach Chris Kleiman's team rallies three times in the fourth quarter — and twice in the final minute — in the playoffs to secure NDSU's 12th football national championship.