Close but …

For the 10th time in the past 19 years, there will a chance for a Triple Crown winner at the Belmont:

Year Horse Belmont

1997 Silver Charm Second

1998 Real Quiet Second

1999 Charismatic Third

2002 War Emblem Eighth

2003 Funny Cide Third

2004 Smarty Jones Second

2008 Big Brown Ninth

2012 I’ll Have Another Scratched

2014 California Chrome Fourth

2015 American Pharoah ?