Big Ten tournament by the numbers


2 Teams seeded 4 or worse that have ever gone on to win the Big Ten tournament. Iowa in 2001 is the worst seed (sixth) to win it.


.190 Winning percentage in the Big Ten tournament for No. 11 seeds, the Gophers’ slot.



5 Returning teams that have never won: Nebraska, Penn State, Indiana, Northwestern and the Gophers.


2 Teams have dominated the last five years of the tournament: Ohio State won it in 2010, 2011 and 2013 and Michigan State won it last year and in 2012.


4 Champions have gone on to compete in the NCAA tournament’s Final Four. Michigan State, in 2000, is the only one to go on to win the national title.