2016 World Cup of Hockey

Who: Eight teams (two divisions). The first six will be Canada, the United States, Russia, Sweden, Czech Republic and Finland. Another team will consist of North American-born players 23 and younger, and another will consist of European-born players whose countries aren’t represented.

When: The tournament will start Sept. 17 and end with a best-of-three final series, with the last possible date set for Oct. 1. The start of the NHL regular season will be pushed back to the second week of October.

Where: All games at Air Canada Centre in Toronto.

History: The World Cup and its predecessor, the Canada Cup, have been held seven times since 1976 but not since 2004. Canada has won five of the seven tournaments. In 2004, Xcel Energy Center was host to two preliminary round games, a quarterfinal and a semifinal.