Journalist Mitchell Zuckoff, mystery writer Sara Paretsky and Harper Lee biographer Marja Mills are among the nine authors who will take part in the fall series of Club Book. The free writers series takes place at libraries and community centers throughout the metro area, and is paid for through the state Legacy Fund. Here’s the lineup:

Meg Waite Clayton, author of “The Wednesday Sisters,” 6:30 p.m. Sept. 17, Chanhassen Public Library, 7711 Kerber Blvd., Chanhassen.

Mitchell Zuckoff, author of “Lost in Shangri-La” and “13 Hours,” 7 p.m. Sept. 24, R.H. Stafford Library, 8595 Central Park Place, Woodbury.

Sara Paretsky, author of the V.I. Warshawski mystery series, 7 p.m. Oct. 1, Galaxie Library, 14955 Galaxie Av., Apple Valley.

Marja Mills, author of “The Mockingbird Next Door,” 7 p.m. Oct. 6, Prior Lake Library, 16210 Eagle Creek Av. SE., Prior Lake.

Emily St. John Mandel, author of “Station Eleven,” a finalist for the National Book Award. 7 p.m. Oct. 12, Stillwater Public Library, 224 3rd St. N., Stillwater.

Ron Rash, author of “Serena,” 7 p.m. Oct. 20, Plymouth Library, 15700 36th Av. N., Plymouth.

Chuck Logan, author of the Phil Broker thriller series, 7 p.m. Oct. 27, Rum River Library, 4201 6th Av., Anoka.

Alexs Pate and Tish Jones, contributor and editor of “Blues Vision,” an anthology of African-American writing, 7 p.m. Nov. 2, Roseville Library, 2180 Hamline Av. N., Roseville.

Brando Skyhorse, “The Madonnas of Echo Park,” 7 p.m. Nov. 10, Highland Park Community Center, 1978 Ford Pkwy., St. Paul.

Belafonte, Davis to be honored

Singer and activist Harry Belafonte and Academy Award-winning actress Geena Davis will headline this year’s winners of Muhammad Ali Humanitarian Awards. The awards are named after the former heavyweight boxing champion, who has focused on humanitarian causes since leaving the ring. Ali is scheduled to attend the Sept. 19 ceremony in his hometown of Louisville, Ky. Organizers said that Belafonte will receive the Muhammad Ali Humanitarian Award for Lifetime Achievement for his contributions to civil rights. Davis will receive the Muhammad Ali Humanitarian of the Year Award for her efforts to promote gender equality. Olympic gold medal swimmer Janet Evans will emcee the event.

News Services