The Bush Foundation this week named 24 fellows for 2018, a diverse group of leaders who will each receive up to $100,000 over the next 12 to 24 months to pursue learning opportunities to become more effective leaders in their communities.

Bush Fellows will be able to use the funding to pursue advanced education, create networking opportunities and take advantage of leadership resources, workshops and training programs.

"The 2018 Bush Fellows are exceptional leaders who have made the most of the opportunities in their lives," said Anita Patel, director of Bush Foundation Leadership Programs. "We believe the well-being of our region is directly impacted by investing in individuals who will shape the future. We are betting on the potential of these 24 fellows to make a significant impact in their communities."

A total of 751 people applied for the 2018 Bush Fellowship. Applicants described their leadership vision and passion and how a Bush Fellowship would help them achieve their goals. The foundation will begin accepting applications for the 2019 Bush Fellowship Aug. 7.

It is open to anyone 24 years and older who lives in Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota or one of the 23 native nations that share the same geography.

This year's fellows:

Asad Aliweyd, Eden Prairie; Roxanne Anderson, Minneapolis; Yende Anderson, Plymouth; Joanna Ramirez Barrett, St. Paul; Erik Bringswhite, Pine Ridge, S.D.; Me'Lea Connelly, Minneapolis; Robin David, Grand Forks, N.D.; John Davis, Lanesboro, Minn.; Jeff Dykstra, Edina; Hussein Farah, Woodbury; Jenn Faul, Fargo, N.D.; Shawntera M. Hardy, St. Paul; Dr. Benson Hsu, Sioux Falls, S.D.;

Neda Kellogg, Minneapolis; Nicholas Kor, Minneapolis; Amanda LaGrange, Hopkins; Larry A. McKenzie, Minneapolis; Abdi Sabrie, Mankato; Tamim Saidi, Maple Grove; Sean Sherman, Minneapolis; Pheng Thao, St. Paul; Nick Tilsen, Porcupine, S.D.; Sharon Kennedy Vickers, Eden Prairie and Rhiana Yazzie, St. Paul.