Boston University’s Jack Eichel became just the second freshman to ever win the Hobey Baker Award honoring college hockey’s most outstanding player on Friday evening in Boston.

Eichel, a product of North Chelmsford, Mass., and NHL standout Paul Kariya (University of Maine in 1993) are the only freshmen to win the award’s 35-year history. Eichel beat out North Dakota junior goaltender Zane McIntyre and Harvard junior forward Jimmy Vesey for the top honor.

The 18-year-old college rookie has 70 points (26 goals, 44 assists) and a plus-51 rating through 39 games this season. He scored two goals and an assist in Thursday’s Frozen Four semifinal to lead Boston University past North Dakota 5-3 and advance to Saturday’s national championship game against Providence at TD Garden in Boston.

McIntyre claimed the 2015 Mike Richter Award given to college hockey's top goaltender on Friday morning in Boston. The Thief River Falls, Minn., native led North Dakota to back-to-back Frozen Fours, but lost in the national semifinals for a second straight year after a 5-3 loss to Boston University on Thursday.

He recorded a 29-10-3 record and played all but 43 minutes this season. McIntyre's 29 wins lead the nation and are one shy of the North Dakota's all-time single-season record, his save total (1,111) is second in the nation, winning percentage (.726) is sixth, he's 11th in save percentage (.929), and 16th in goals-against average (2.05). 

The one-time Frank Brimsek Award recipient honoring the top goaltender in Minnesota high school hockey, was the NCHC Goaltender of the Year after a standout regular season and is one of three Hobey Baker Award finalists. He's been especially good in close games, closing out the season with an 11-2-3 record in one-goal contests and had 15 games with 30 or more saves.

The other finalists for the 2015 Mike Richter Award were Kyle Hayton of St. Lawrence, Jake Hildebrand of Michigan State, Alex Lyon of Yale (Baudette, Minn., native) and Jamie Phillips of Michigan Tech. Gophers former goaltender Adam Wilcox was a finalist in 2014.