Gophers women's and men's hockey standouts Hannah Brandt and Nate Condon were selected as Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award honorees on Thursday afternoon. 

The pair was among 24 student-athletes recognized out of 300 Big Ten candidates. Each university's women's and men's varsity programs selected an individual that displayed positive sportsmanship and two winners were chosen from each institution for the conference award.

Brandt helped guide the Gophers women's hockey team to the national championship game and WCHA regular-season and tournament titles. The sophomore scored 65 points and was a First Team All-American, Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award finalist, and WCHA Player of the Year. She plans to study health and wellness in the Inter-College Program.

Condon co-captained the Gophers men's hockey team to a national runner-up finish and the inaugural Big Ten hockey regular-season title. The senior finished his career with 103 points and became just the 81st Gopher in program history to reach the 100-point milestone. Condon, a 2008 seventh-round draft pick by the Colorado Avalanche, graduated in May with degrees in finance and accounting from the Carlson School of Management. He was honored with the program's Elwin "Doc" Romnes Leadership and Sportsmanship Award and was an Academic All-Big Ten honoree.

2014 Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Winners

Illinois                                  Nathan Scheelhaase, Football

                                           Jenna Mychko, Softball

Indiana                                 Dustin DeMuth, Baseball

                                           Amanda Redfern, Water Polo

Iowa                                    James Morris, Football

                                           Theairra Taylor, Basketball

Michigan                              Shaun Bernstein, Tennis

                                           Courtney Beidler, Swimming & Diving

Michigan State                     Antonio James, Track & Field

                                           Tori Franklin, Track & Field

Minnesota                          Nate Condon, Hockey

                                           Hannah Brandt, Hockey

Nebraska                             C.J. Zimmerer, Football

                                           Sunny Russell, Rifle

Northwestern                        Jack Quigley, Baseball

                                           Jackie Powell, Swimming & Diving

Ohio State                            2014 Baseball team

                                           Claudia Lim, Golf

Penn State                           David Glen, Hockey

                                           Christina Vosters, Golf

Purdue                                 Adam Schenk, Golf

                                            Maia Monchek, Softball

Wisconsin                             Chris Borland, Football

                                            Monica Whitehouse, Rowing

Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award criteria: One member of each varsity sports team on every campus was chosen by his or her institution as a Sportsmanship Award honoree, and two Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners were then selected from each institution. All of the Sportsmanship Award winners have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, these honorees must be in good academic standing and must have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.