Gophers senior cornerbacks Briean Boddy-Calhoun and Eric Murray were named to the Bronko Nagurski Trophy watch list Friday.

Nagurski was an All-American for the Gophers in the late 1920s and later starred for the Chicago Bears, becoming a charter member of the College Football and Pro Football Halls of Fame. The Football Writers Association of America honors its defensive player of the year with the Nagurski Trophy.

Boddy-Calhoun and Murray were also named to the Bednarik Award watch list Tuesday. The Bednarik Award is presented by the Maxwell Football Club to its national defensive player of the year.