At University Aquatic Center

Dates: Wednesday through Saturday

Daily schedule: Preliminaries, 10 a.m., diving, noon, and finals, 6:30 p.m.

TV: Highlights on the Big Ten Network at 10 a.m., March 6

Defending champion: Ohio State

Favorites: Michigan, rated No. 9 in the College Swimming Coaches Association of America poll. Other rated teams are No. 11 Ohio State, No. 14 Indiana, No. 15 Gophers, No. 20 Purdue and No. 25 Iowa.

Gophers history: Minnesota has won nine conference titles, including five -- the most of any team -- since 2000. The Gophers' team titles in the past decade were in 2001, '02, '04, '05 and '07. In 2001 and '05 the meet was in Minneapolis. ... The Gophers have finished in the top three in the past 21 Big Ten meets and have had 89 individual or relay conference champions since 1989. ... The U was 5-2 in dual meets this season, 3-2 in Big Ten meets.

Top Gophers, with finishes last year:

• Michael Richards, defending champion in 50- and 100-yard freestyles

• Curt Carlson, second in 100 freestyle

• Drew Brown, third in 1-meter diving

• Ivan Gutesa, third in 100 breaststroke

• 200- and 400-freestyle relays were both second last year and should be strong with Richards and Carlson

Next up: NCAA championships at University Aquatic Center, March 24-26