Big Ten coaching salaries

A look at the base salaries of the Big Ten football coaches in 2018 and the length of their contracts. Financial figures are from USA Today’s salary database:

Coach, school 2018 salary Through

Jim Harbaugh, Michigan $7.5M 2021

Scott Frost, Nebraska $5M 2024

Lovie Smith, Illinois $5M 2023

James Franklin, Penn State $4.8M 2022

Kirk Ferentz, Iowa $4.7M 2026

* Ryan Day, Ohio State $4.5M 2023

Mark Dantonio, Michigan State $4.39M 2024

Jeff Brohm, Purdue $3.8M 2024

Paul Chryst, Wisconsin $3.75M 2023

Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern $3.62M 2026

P.J. Fleck, Gophers $3.55M 2023

* Mike Locksley, Maryland $2.5M 2023

Chris Ash, Rutgers $2.22M 2022

Tom Allen, Indiana $1.83M 2022

* Salaries of Day and Locksley, both recently hired, are for 2019.