Wisconsin's Frank Kaminsky was selected as the Big Ten's Player of the Year on Monday.

As Kaminsky led the Badgers to the outright Big Ten championship, the senior averaged 19.9 points and 8.2 rebounds per game in conference play.Kaminsky has scored at least 20 points on 13 occasions this season and hauled in double-digit rebounds in 10 games.

Kaminsky is Wisconsin's third Big Ten Player of the Year, joining Devin Harris in 2004 and Alando Tucker in 2007. All three winners have come in the Bo Ryan era.

"I couldn't have expected this, just with the progression that I've made throughout my career," Kaminsky said. "It's been a great season so far and it's awesome to win this award. I'm really happy about it, but we know that there's a lot left this season. Hopefully we'll get some bigger awards."

Gophers seniors Andre Hollins and Mo Walker received Big Ten honorable mentions. Hollins was honored by both media and the coaches, while Walker received a nod from only the media. It was his first career All-BigTen honor.

Hollins, who is fourth on the Gophers' all-time scoring list with 1,752 career points, has started every game this season and leads the team with 14.3 points per game, while also averaging 4.1 rebounds and 2.7 assists. It is his third consecutive honorable mention in addition to being named to the media's third team in 2013. Hollins scored his second career double-double at Nebraska on Jan. 20, posting 21 points and a career-high 11 rebounds.

He also was recognized as the Gophers' honoree for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award.

Walker is averaging 12 points, 6.6 rebounds and 1.3 blocks and has posted career-best numbers in almost every category this season, capped by a 26-point, 11-rebound performance in a 79-76 loss to Penn State on Sunday.

Ryan was named Coach of the Year by conference coaches, while Maryland's Mark Turgeon received the honor from the media. In Maryland's first Big Ten season, Turgeon led the Terrapins to the No. 2 seed in the conference tournament.

Ohio State's D'Angelo Russell was chosen Freshman of the Year by coaches and media. Purdue's Rapheal Davis was Defensive Player of the Year.

Staff writer Amelia Rayno contributed to this report.