Anne Tyler

Anne Tyler

The Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction has announced its long list today. The 20 titles were selected from 165 nominees; to be considered, the novel must have been written by a woman and published in the United Kingdom between April 1, 2014, and March 31, 2015.

Last year's winner, "A Girl is a half-Formed Thing," by Eimear McBride, was published in the United States by Coffee House Press of Minneapolis.

Here is this year's long list, with links to Star Tribune reviews, when available. The short list will be announced in April, and the winner in June. 

Rachel Cusk: Outline
Lissa Evans: Crooked Heart
Patricia Ferguson: Aren’t We Sisters?
Xiaolu Guo: I Am China
Samantha Harvey: Dear Thief

Emma Healey: Elizabeth is Missing
Emily St. John Mandel: Station Eleven
Grace McCleen: The Offering
Sandra Newman: The Country of Ice Cream Star
Heather O’Neil: The Girl Who Was Saturday Night

Laline Paull: The Bees
Marie Phillips: The Table of Less Valued Knights
Rachel Seiffert: The Walk Home
Kamila Shamsie: A God in Every Stone
Ali Smith: How to be Both

Sara Taylor: The Shore
Anne Tyler: A Spool of Blue Thread
Sarah Waters: The Paying Guests
Jemma Wayne: After Before
PP Wong: The Life of a Banana

Older Post

Kevin Kling will substitute for Richard Blanco at Pen Pals

Newer Post

PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction finalists named