league roundup

Lagerquist leads Eden Prairie in 2 OTs

Girls' lacrosse

•EDEN PRAIRIE 13, MINNETONKA 12 (2OT): Jessica Lagerquist scored six goals, including the winner in double overtime, giving No.1-seeded Eden Prairie a victory over the No. 2-seeded Skippers in the Section2 final at Armstrong High School and sending the Eagles to their eighth consecutive state tournament.

The Eagles trailed at the end of the first half in their third meeting with Lake Conference rival Minnetonka.

Leading scorer Sara Woodring attracted defenders all evening and played the double coverage to her advantage, assisting on two goals in the opening minute of the second half. Woodring circled around the net drawing the defender, leaving Lagerquist open charging through the slot to score.

Angie Heppelman and Lagerquist continued the rally, as the Eagles gained the lead for the first time, five minutes into the half.

Ava Diedrich-McFarlane scored her fourth goal to give the Skippers a 12-11 lead midway through the final half of regulation. Lagerquist countered on a free shot to tie the score and force overtime.

The Eagles struggled with draw controls early in the game, but won both draws in the first session of overtime. Neither team could score, sending the game to sudden death.

Eden Prairie goaltender Asil Asfour made a save at the side of the net after the opening draw, stealing possession back to the Eagles for Lagerquist's sixth and final goal.



•WAYZATA 6, MAPLE GROVE 1: The Trojans scored six consecutive goals to defeat the Crimson in the Section 8 final in Brooklyn Park. Amar Batra scored twice to lead top-seeded Wayzata. Junior goaltender Aaron Peterson made 10 saves on 11 shots and came within 3 minutes, 21 seconds of registering a shutout. Maxwell Johnson ended Wayzata's shutout bid with a goal 8:39 into the second half. Wayzata advances to the state tournament Tuesday at Chaska High School.

•WHITE BEAR LAKE 11, MOUNDS VIEW 8: After trailing by a goal in the third quarter, the Bears scored four consecutive times to edge the Mustangs in the Section 5 final at Brooklyn Park. Connar Dehnert scored three goals for the Bears, and Jared Lueck and Shane Olsen each had two. Logan Maccani led the Mustangs with four goals and one assist.

•EDEN PRAIRIE 14, EDINA 9: The Eagles took an early 5-0 lead and held on to beat their Lake Conference rival in the Section 2 final in Plymouth to advance to the state tournament. Sean Patterson scored five goals and Charlie Venable had four for the Eagles. John Marple and Henry Rose each scored two goals for the Hornets.