Artcetera Logo



Find breaking news, concert updates and people news in the arts and entertainment world

Justin Timberlake talks Janet Jackson in interview ahead of Super Bowl LII

Janet Jackson and Justin Timberlake made peace after their infamous 2004 Super Bowl incident, he says. / David Phillip, AP

Janet Jackson and Justin Timberlake made peace after their infamous 2004 Super Bowl incident, he says. / David Phillip, AP

Whether or not it increases the chances of Janet Jackson surprising us in Minneapolis during Super Bowl week, Justin Timberlake revealed in a new interview that he and his counterpart (victim?) in the 2004 “wardrobe malfunction” halftime show incident maintained a good relationship after it happened.

“I don't know that a lot of people know that," Timberlake told Zane Lowe for Beats One. “I don't think it's my job to do that, because you value the relationships that you do have with people."

“Naturally, that’s something we talked about,” he said of Jackson in the interview (a clip is posted below). “To be honest, it wasn’t too much of a conversation. It’s just one of those things where you go, like… “Yeah, what do you want me to say? We’re not going to do that again.”

He also seemed to ever-so-vaguely take the blame for the controversy in the Lowe interview: “I had my wires crossed, and it’s just something that you have to look back on and go like, ‘OK, well, you can’t change what’s happened, but you can move forward and learn from it.'”

The infamous stunt, wherein Timberlake revealed one of Jackson’s breasts in front of a kinda-big TV audience, has been a topic of conversation again ever since Timberlake was confirmed in October as the the halftime show headliner for Super Bowl LII, taking place Feb. 4 at U.S. Bank Stadium in Minneapolis.

For her part, Jackson has stayed mum as Timberlake’s halftime show nears.

Not only will Timberlake be in town that week – he’s also due at the American Express party at Prince’s Paisley Park on Feb. 1 – so will Jackson’s longtime cohorts Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis, who are heading up the free Super Bowl Live concert series on Nicollet Mall. The renowned producers brought Jackson to Minneapolis often to record some of her biggest hits in the late-‘80s and ‘90s.

Kid Rock, Steve Martin are headed to Treasure Island Casino amphitheater

Kid Rock

Kid Rock

If the Minnesota State Fair, Target Field and other venues can announce their summer concerts way in advance, why not Treasure Island Casino?  Last year, the Red Wing casino did an ambitious nine-concert series at its ad hoc amphitheater.

Treasure Island is announcing its first two outdoor concerts: Kid Rock on Aug. 11 and Steve Martin and Martin Short on Aug. 10.

Kid Rock is touring behind his late 2017 release, “Sweet Southern Sugar,” which was a little bit country and a little bit rap ‘n’ roll.

Combining comedy and music, longtime pals Martin and Short were a sold-out hit for two nights at the Orpheum last May.

Tickets for Martin and Martin, which start at $55, will go on sale at 10 a.m. Saturday at Ticketmaster outlets.

Tickets for Kid Rock, which start at $49, will go on sale at noon Saturday at Ticketmaster outlets.

Event Calendar
  • Today
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun
  • Mon

No Events Available.