The Andrew Carnegie Medals for excellence in fiction and nonfiction will be announced on June 30 in Chicago. Winners will receive $5,000, and the four finalists will receive $1,500 each.


The finalists in fiction are Louise Erdrich for "The Round House"; Junot Diaz for "This is How You Lose Her" (and those two met mano-a-mano once before, for the National Book Award, and we all know who won); and Richard Ford for "Canada."

In nonfiction, the finalists are "The Mansion of Happiness," by Jill Lepore, "Short Nights of the Shadow Catcher," by Timothy Egan, and "Spillover:  Animal Infections and the Next Human Pandemic," by David Quammen.

Here are Strib reviews of four of the six finalists:

"The Round House."

"This is How You Lose Her."


"Short Nights of the Shadow Catcher."

Older Post

Coffee House Press racks up an impressive list of awards

Newer Post

Tonight's Earth Day reading with John Caddy is postponed due to, of course, weather.