The St. Paul school district and its teachers union have selected six schools as pilot sites for efforts to improve school climate and safety in the 2016-17 school year.

The schools were among those to pitch plans to make schools safer by working to repair "harm to relationships instead of simply assigning blame and punishment," a district news release said.

Each school will receive $150,000 to implement its behavior program.

The district agreed to provide the funding as part of its new contract with the St. Paul Federation of Teachers. The union had threatened to strike over safety concerns.

The six schools are:

American Indian Magnet School

Farnsworth Aerospace (grades 5-8 campus)

Johnson High

Maxfield Elementary

Murray Middle

Riverview West Side School of Excellence Elementary

The number of pilot sites will go from six to nine to 12 over the next three years.

In a statement, Superintendent Valeria Silva said the sites "will offer an excellent opportunity to see the benefits a restorative mindset can bring to schools."

Details of the six programs were not available Monday. A district spokeswoman said that a review of what was public data and what was not had yet to be completed for each of the applications.